Instagram Introduces New Feature That Shows When Users Were Last Active

Instagram users, we have some news for you: Instagram has announced the addition of a brand new feature to its messaging section which will allow you to see when people you follow or send direct messages to were last active on the app. Cool, right?

The new so-called “Show Activity Status” option, which is enabled by default, by the way, can be toggled off inside of Instagram’s settings if you decide that people don’t need a regular update of your everyday activities- that is if you want to have some privacy. It is a two-way street, though. By disabling the activity status for yourself, you are effectively giving up the right to see this information for anyone else. Tit for tat.

Of course, it may well be that Instagram is only trialing this feature for a limited number of users, but from what we could tell it is already available to quite a few people across both iOS and Android.

Now, to be abundantly clear, not all your followers will be able to see when you were last active on Instagram. That privilege will only be reserved for people you follow or had recently chatted with.

Most people had no problem embracing this feature when it was introduced in Facebook Messenger and WhatsApp, but that is for everyone to decide for themselves. We don’t like it, to be quite honest. Sometimes, you really don’t want some people to “find” you online. Let’s be honest.

Some might find it useful though, especially when chatting with businesses and professionals in that it could give them an idea of how quick they might respond to some inquiry. Others, who don’t like people knowing what they are up to at all times, will certainly not be as pleased with it.

Either way, Instagram does give you the option to choose whether to activate this feature or not, which is not the case with Facebook Messenger, where people can always see when you were last active online.

Facebook is also “guilty” of not including an option for disabling read receipts, but so is Instagram: direct messages are shown as “seen” as soon recipients have read them.

Still, Instagram should be commended for not forcing this feature upon us, as we should be able to kick back and immerse in its algorithmic feed without everyone knowing about it.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*